Silver coin; Denomination: Penny
Tower Mint, London.
Commonwealth of England (1649-1660)

The Tower mint had been ceased by the Parliament in 1642 but it continued to mint in the name of Charles I until the monachy was abolished by Parliament in 1649. The value indicated by the Roman numeral I above the shields on the reverse

Obverse Description

Within a wreath of palm and laurel a shield bearing the cross of St. George

Reverse Description

Within a beaded circle two conjoined shields, the one on the left bearing the cross of St. George and on the right, the Irish Harp; above, the denomination in pence, I

Edge Description


More Information