Gold coin; Denomination: Double-crown
Tower Mint, London
Commonwealth of England (1649-1653)

The Tower mint had been ceased by the Parliament in 1642 but it continued to mint in the name of Charles I until the monachy was abolished by Parliament in 1649. The double-crown, also known as a half-unite or half-broad, was valued at 10 shillings, indicated by the Roman numeral X above the shields on the reverse.

Obverse Description

Within a wreath of palm and laurel a shield bearing the cross of St. George; around, (mm. sun) COMMONWEALTH OF ENGLAND

Reverse Description

Within a beaded inner circle two conjoined shields, the one on the left bearing the cross of St. George and on the right, the Irish Harp; above, the denomination in shillings, X; around, GOD WITH VS 1650

Edge Description


More Information