Unframed 'Victorian Railways Union Past Officer's Certificate' presented to R. Hood in recognition of services rendered as President of the Oakleigh Branch, 1912-13.

The Victorian Railways Union (VRU) was formed on 1 July 1911, by the amalgamation of the Amalgamated Society of Railway Employees (ASRE), the Victorian Railways Transportation Employees Association (VRTEA), the Permanent Way Association and the Carriage Builders Society. The VR Clerical Association also joined the VRU in September /October 1911.

In 1921, the Victorian Railways Union became the Victorian Branch of the Australian Railways Union (ARU).

Note: The design and illustrations on this certificate (except for the bottom two) are identical to another certificate in the Museum's collection issued by the Victorian Railways Transportation Employees Association in 1908, with only the name of the organisation having been changed.

Physical Description

Illuminated certificate with coloured central inscription.

More Information