Mount Franklin is an extinct volcano 11km north-east of Daylesford and north-north-west of Melbourne. It was known as Lalgambook by the local Jajowurrong people. In 1841 Sir John Franklin, Lieut-Governor of Van Dieman's Land, modestly named the mountain after himself.

E.S. Parker established the Jim Crow Aboriginal Station at Mount Franklin. In 1852 diggings were discovered that took the same name; the following year the Dry Diggings were discovered. The district soon developed as a gold-mining centre.

Around 1865 the presence of a deep lead in Mount Franklin was established. Deep lead mining was initially unsuccessful, and it was not until the late 1870s that the Franklinford Gold Mining Company mined at Mount Franklin on a significant scale. A few years later the Mount Franklin Estate Gold Mining Company also struck gold, followed by the Shakespeare and Great Western companies in the mid 1880s. By the late 1880s, however, deep lead mining had ceased in the area.

In the latter decades of the 19th century the fresh air and the picturesque scenery at Mount Franklin began to attract visitors. Mount Franklin is known today as a tourist destination.

The Shire of Mount Franklin was proclaimed on 27 January 1871. The Shire of Mount Franklin became part of the Shire of Daylesford and Glenlyon. On 19 January 1995 the Shire of Daylesford and Glenlyon, the Shire of Creswick and parts of the Shires of Kyneton and Talbot and Clunes united to form the Hepburn Shire Council.

Blake, L. (1977). Place Names of Victoria.
Municipal Association of Victoria website
Parks Victoria website
Heritage Victoria website

More Information