The Australian operations of this company were originally founded by Hugh V. McKay in the 1890s. In 1906, H.V. McKay moved his manufacturing operations from Ballarat to Braybrook Junction (later Sunshine) on the western outskirts of Melbourne. In 1921 the company became H.V. McKay Pty Ltd.

In 1930 it merged with the Australian operations of the Canadian agricultural implement and tractor manufacturer Massey Harris, to become H.V. McKay Massey Harris Pty Ltd. In 1955, this company was in turn absorbed into the Massey-Ferguson global entity becoming Massey Ferguson (Aust.) Limited. In 1992, Massey Ferguson (Aust.) Ltd merged with the Australian distributor of the Japanese tractor manufacturer Iseki to become Massey Ferguson Iseki Australia Limited, which in turn become AGCO Australia Ltd in 1994.

1. F.J. Kendall, H.V. McKay : Pioneer Industrialist, Council of the Science Museum of Victoria, [1976?]
2. John Lack, 'McKay, Hugh Victor (1865 - 1926)', Australian Dictionary of Biography, Vol.10, Melbourne University Press, 1986, pp 291-294.

More Information