De La Salle College was built by Andrew Brown, who founded St Andrew's College at the University of Sydney and the Presbyterian Church in Bowenfels, near Lithgow. (The Presbyterian Church website claims that its minister Colin Stewart founded the school.)

The school was originally named Cooerwull Academy but was renamed De La Salle College. It functioned as an academy for boys and could accommodate up to 80 pupils at one time.

Walkabout Australian Travel Guide website, accessed 25/9/2003.
Lithgow area website, accessed 25/9/2003.

More Information